What is Halal?

All foods are Halal, except those listed as Haram by the Sharia, such as pork, improperly slaughtered animals, ethanol and other intoxicants, carnivorous animals, blood, contaminated and dangerous foods, etc. The Halal industry includes not only the food sector, but also Tourism, Banking and Finance, Pharmaceuticals, Fashion and Cosmetics.


It´s a term that encompasses everything that is permitted, and therefore beneficial and healthy for human beings, leading to an improvement in the quality of life and the reduction of health risks. It could be translated as authorised, recommended, healthy, ethical or non-abusive.

Muslims today understand the term Halal as a way of life, a global and integral concept that influences and affects everyday issues such as food, hygiene, health, economy, fashion, commerce and tourism.


It´s a term that refers to anything that is prohibited, not allowed, it is harmful or abusive. Are considered Haram, according to Islamic rules:

  • The meat of carrion.
  • The blood.
  • Pork and wild boar meat, as well as their derivatives.
  • Animals slaughtered without invoking the name of God.
  • Carnivorous and scavengers animals and birds with claws.
  • Alcohol, alcoholic beverages, harmful or poisonous substances and toxic plants or drinks.Ingredients from Haram animals or products, such as pork gelatin. Additives, preservatives, colorings, flavorings, etc., produced from Haram ingredients.
  • Interest, usury and abusive speculation.
  • Wagering on the game.
  • Pornography


A concept that refers to anything for which its origin cannot be clearly determined or there are differences in its valuation in the different Qur’anic traditions, in which case each Muslim decides his or her personal position on it.

The Halal Institute prefers not to issue certifications for dubious foodstuffs, such as, for example, animals from hunting, as it is quite complicated to apply our control model to them in order to offer the maximum guarantees to consumers.